No quota on success

Standard

What’s true for me today is …

There is no quota on success. It’s something I think about when I work on my writing–the odds of success. What percentage of writers have what percentage of work published what percentage of time? Sounds like a formula with a lot of gravity and I was never very good at math.

Oh well. Not important today. It’s Labor Day, a day to take a break from the toil of “heavy” labors (but not from labors of love, I suppose. I’m OK with that).

What’s true for me today is … there is no other single accomplishment that can take my place; there is no limit to what I can create and achieve with my creativity. My success is mine to own and engineer and share.

Whew! That’s a big realization — some emotional “heavy lifting” on Labor Day. What can I say … it comes as it comes when I write.

When do you do your best emotional “heavy lifting”?

3 responses »

  1. You have such a beautiful attitude towards life! There is no accomplishment that can take your place. You are here to live and be and the world would be so greatly diminshed without your light.
    To answer the question you posed – I do my best emotional “heavy lifting” when I have to do it, when I’m suffering from resisting doing it – never because I feel like doing it 🙂

  2. Hi Rachel! My first comment … yeah! Thanks for your support and for sharing your experience on this blog. I look forward to further conversations 😉

  3. The energy of your spirit is coming through in your words. I have been struggling to birth some new projects while having the courage to let some others go. My emotional “heavy lifting” plays a big part in the mental conversations I have with myself making these decisions. Trying to keep perspective and balance takes some heavy lifting for me.

    Thanks for writing this blog. It provides lots of inspiration to keep going!

What's true for me today is ...

