Your biggest fear, your greatest message

Standard

What’s true for me today is …

My biggest fear is my greatest message.

I wish I could take credit for this idea, but it’s something the speaker said in a teleconference I hosted earlier today. She was talking about fear in the context of business — in specific, how some people are afraid to start new health consulting businesses because they think/feel they need to be perfect people with perfect habits, that their clients will expect it, and so they do nothing.

Turns out, it’s not true. People like talking to people they relate to, and the more you share your story, your experience, the easier you are to relate to. That’s how your biggest fear can be your greatest message;  the more you are willing to share your fear with others, the more opportunity you have to form meaningful conversations, relationships, and connections with other.

Don’t know about you, but I like it – makes fear seem useful.

So the question is, what is your biggest fear and how will share it with others?

Personally, not sure. The first thing that comes to mind is writing – do I write enough to be successful (whatever “successful” means; a whole other conversation)? Hmmm … Looking forward to sharing more on this.

 

5 responses »

  1. I think my fears evolve as my life evolves. Right now, looking for a job, I fear that my past experience hasn’t been focused enough to get a quality job. But…since I can’t change the past, I keep my fear at bay by focusing on what I can do to move forward, using my fear to help me make changes for the future.

    Thanks for the post! Gretchen

    • Gretchen, thanks for sharing this post. I know what you mean … my fears shift and change, too, depending on what I am focused (or overly focused on) that day. But, I think you have a great attitude and post a very thoughtful and useful question … what can you change? That’s where we should put our energy because that’s where we will be successful. I look forward to hearing more about how you will transform your fear into your message … I bet a lot of people relate to what you are experiencing today. -L

  2. I applaud your honesty about fear. You are so right on.
    One of fear’s best friends is anger. Yesterday I did a shamanic journey and discovered that I’m very angry with men. I knew I was pissed but not gut-level, fiery angry. I’m not quite sure how I’m going to work through the anger yet. Fortunately, the Universe will be happy to send some teachers. I am anxiously awaiting. This does not sound like a fun thing to me.

    • Thanks for the support Ariana. I agree – that does not sound fun, but an important step to take on the path to healing. So, I thank you for sharing what’s true for you today and look forward to hearing more about how you will walk this path, who you will talk to in the process of transforming your fear into your message. Who knows, the process may actually turn out to be fun, somehow, someday 😉

  3. I love this topic! My mind thrives on churning out fear and I go crazy when I think I am the only one who experiences this. So often my fear is dissipated when I share it with someone. My fear today is that I am ridiculously ill equipped to study art history, a subject that I love. The evidence supporting this fear is that I seem to be incapable of understanding a text I was assigned to read for my Methods of Art History class – I am reading words but they don’t seem to be linked to any type of reality I can comprehend. Of course, I’m certain this means I will get kicked out of grad school once THEY find out my secret. Thanks for providing a forum for me to acknowledge (and hopefully ease) this anxiety.

What's true for me today is ...

