Coffee and the chessboard metaphor

Standard

What’s true for me today is …

Right now, you can find me somewhere I am not supposed to be … the too-cool hippie deluxe coffee shop near my apartment building. I have not been here in years, but needed a destination with an outlet for my laptop, which cuts down the choices. So, here I am, remembering all too well why I never come here:

1. The wall art. Not sure my brain can handle the mural-sized painting of dragons at the pyramids.

2. The music. Why does it have to be sooooooooooooo loud?

3. The coffee. It has the right color, at least 🙂

But, before I lend the impression it’s all bad …

What’s ALSO true for me today is … I am enamored (in a platonic way). This coffee shop is a safe harbor for the local, unofficial, chess club. I am watching three games playing out side by side. But, that’s not what’s interesting.

A crowd is watching and I’m watching the kid player, the only one. In specific, I’m watching how he’s asserting himself into the chess-playing fray with such easy. Earlier, he cajoled an onlooker into a game by promising to show him the moves. Now he’s standing guard over a match, waiting to play the winner. I have no idea whether he’s a “good” player. I just think he has a cool attitude (and a lot more confidence than I ever had at twelve or thirteen).

 

2 responses »

  1. It is a crazy coffee house……… I used to do some of my studies there. However, it can have some more “earthy” experiences than the local Starbucks, such as good folk music, excellent pastries, and the fun chess games. I really like hearing about the younger player asserting himself and waiting for his turn. Like yourself, I never would have thought to hang around adults and patiently wait to join in………….not at that age. Thanks for sharing that unique perspective.

What's true for me today is ...

