Blogging to write vs writing to blog

Standard

What’s true or me today is …

It’s the blogging life for me – or is it? I just spent the last hour researching other lifestyle and writing blogs for ideas about how to strike a work-blog balance. Turns out blogging has a dirty little secret – it’s more time consuming than it seems. Not that I’m complaining – I’ve really enjoyed my evening blogging time.

But, until recently, I hadn’t spent much time thinking about the purpose of my blog; I was just pleased with myself for actually setting it up and sending my words “out there.” But now, words like “goal” and “purpose” and “intention” have entered my sphere of influence and I have to admit, it’s a bit confusing … am I a writer who blogs (i.e., as part of my daily writing practice) or am I a blogger who writes? Does it matter? What would I say if someone posited this dilemma to me?

Well, if it were one of my writing students, I think I my advice would be to stop seeking advice right now. When writing students are new to the writing process, there is often a compulsion to learn how to do it “right,” because the practice can be a bit uncomfortable at first. That’s how I am feeling today – a  bit exposed and uncomfortable, so I am going to follow my own writing advice and focus on the positive, that today, in this moment, I am writing (and sharing my writing), whether as a writer who blogs or whatever.

Nutty, right? Oh, well. I’m sharing this so I can move past it and in the process, perhaps some of you blogging writers and writers who blog (and people who read and love and share and comment on blogs) will relate to what I am saying. Fingers crossed 😉

P.S.

Feel free to share links to your favorite writing and lifestyle blogs. I’d love to build my community.

5 responses »

  1. I think it comes down to “where do I want to spend my time.” And if you think of yourself as a writer or an author you are constantly having to rewrite/edit everything you say.

    I was talking with an attorney the other day and he said he never blogs or has had a facebook page.
    I asked him why. He said, that as an attorney, he knows that anything you put in writing “will eventually come back to haunt you.” He knows of many situations where someone has either written something or had photos placed on the internet that has kept them from getting jobs and/or used in a suit. I had never even considered that.

    • Thanks for the perspective, Ariana. As I mentioned in my post to Maria, I tend to be a little too into my analytic mind, so it’s great to hear other writers say it’s OK to just go with it sometimes.

      RE your experience with the lawyer … I appreciate the personal experience and do think that we need to be conscious of what we post as we cannot control how our words/work will be interpreted and used by others. However, I try to write everything with integrity so I don’t have to worry about this constantly; otherwise, I may never write or share my voice. I don’t think we need to be afraid to share our ideas, if we truly support them. I would, however, say that it may not be wise (or necessary) to post the dirty laundry to Facebook. Know what I mean?

  2. One of the things that I like about your blog is that it is you. It is human and real. A lot of other blogs that I read feel robotic and synthetic. No matter if you are a writer who blogs or a blogger who writes, you are good at blogging. The goal and purpose isn’t important at this point. You have plenty of time to discover that! (But you already knew that!)

    I am really enjoying reading your posts!

    • Thanks so much for the support, Maria. My “left-brain” writer has a tendency to “try to figure it out” … I think I need to my “right-brain” writer out to play a bit more. As always, any and all suggestions welcome.

  3. Pingback: Sometimes someone has already said it better « what's true for me today is …

What's true for me today is ...

