Me and my inner foodie

Standard

What’s true for me today is …

My inner foodie lives! I thought I was immune – really. But then, I only started cooking a few months ago. For the better part of my adult life, I have been what I affectionately call An Assembler: assemblers are more than willing to cut up or heat up foods, but little more. Needless to say, I’ve eaten my fair share of salads.

All in the past. Sometime late summer, the compulsion took root and I’ve been baking, broiling, and being pleased to devour all manner of treats (some I’ve even blogged about!).

So, what changed The Assembler into An Oven User? Friends and family have asked, but I cannot say for certain. What I can say, with certainty, is that purchased foods taste different now, though I am not sure if my palette has changed or my relationship to food and eating. (Or, perhaps I’m just so impressed with my new-found abilities, my expectations are through the roof? A combination, most likely.)

For someone like me, someone in a small apartment, someone without a dining room let alone a dining table, entertaining the entire process of cooking a full meal is a novelty. It’s also been an unexpected pleasure (and, don’t forget or underestimate, an opportunity to be impressed with myself).

What kind of cook are you? I challenge you to describe your cooking style in 2-5 words (and to post it here)!

 

 

 

About Lauren

L.J. Shapiro is a writer, yogi, and obsessive iPhotographer living in Southern California. She holds an MS in Writing and Book Publishing from Portland State University and has more than 10 years’ experience writing and editing for commercial and creative enterprises. Recent work has appeared in YOGANONYMOUS. She says: “Color, texture, words, gasps, exhales, divinity, darkness, lush florals, and lapis oceans. It’s about the details.”

4 responses »

  1. I can attest to your awesome cooking abilities. Loved those pistachio cookies.

    After many years of cooking I’m enjoying not having to cook. I still manage to create lots of dishes though. Not sure how that happens.
    Do you ship?

  2. Tradition Tastes Better would best describe me. While I prefer easy, thrown together, and few ingredients I have come to know that involved family recipes are usually the ones that have the most flavor. 🙂

  3. Follow recipe, be more daring. That’s my 5-word description. My cooking is so left brain, sequential. Thanks for the nudge to explore another avenue of creativity.

  4. International for variety…….. I enjoy recipes from many different cultures. In general, I prefer more vegetables and grains, with just a little meat or fish. The use of various herbs and spices makes cooking much more interesting for me!

What's true for me today is ...

